Watch Your Mouth: The Power of Positive Speech

20191108_100027_00006703965329816206504.png“From the fruit of their mouth a person’s stomach is filled; with the harvest of their lips they are satisfied. The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.” – Proverbs 18:20-21

In the Bible, the word “tongue” is mentioned 85 times. More so, the power of the tongue is mentioned. Most of the time its not in a good way. The Bible constantly warns us to be careful what we say and cautions us that our tongue will show our character.

We have an old saying where I’m from, “sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never harm me.”

If you ask me, that’s a load of baloney. Time and time again we have all experienced situations where the hurtful words said but other people have literally felt like being shot by a bullet. For many people these hurtful things have haunted them for years and have been the premise on which they live their lies by.

Whether it was a mother who scolded her son. “You’re just like your father!” Which knowing said father had no positive connotations. Or maybe it was a mean teacher. “You’ll never amass to anything in life.” If you’ve never encountered a teacher like this, trust me they do exist – unfortunately.

Like the scripture above reminds us, the tongue has the power to speak great evil over the lives of people.

20191107_174610_0000141737968973189458.png
“The soothing tongue is a tree of life, but a
perverse tongue crushes the spirit.” – Pro 15:4

 

These days there are lots of memes and quotes going around that encourages persons to ignore the negativity that people have spoken over their lives.

“Forget the haters!” they say and I completely agree. I know from experience that there are people who will say all manner of things about you just because they see you striving to be the best version of yourself.

20191108_103339_00009010727071393786482.png

But what happens when the “hater” is you?

Have you ever said anything bad about yourself? Have you ever spoken a negative trait over your life and called it “speaking my truth”?

If the answer is no, then great – you are probably 1 in a million. However, if you can answer yes to these questions – you are not alone.

In my own life I have spoken so many bad things into existence. From things as small as proclaiming, “I’m not a morning person and I’ll never be” to going as far as saying “I struggle with depression and anxiety. I always have and I come to the realisation that its just a part of who I am.”

True I may not have said it in those exact words but I have thought it and I have in other ways announced these things as being a part of my character traits.

20191108_105219_00006534821119424293369.png

Many of us do these things without even thinking about it  but what we fail to realise is that just like the words others speak over our lives have the potential to “issue a death warrant” over our happiness, peace of mind and success, even more so the words we speak over our own lives can have the same effect.

“I’m clumsy.” | “I’m forgetful.” | “I’m bad at saving money.” 

My challenge to you is to reverse those negative attributes that you have spoken over yourself and speak positivity. The more we repeat something is the more we believe it and usually the more likely it is that these things will become our truth.

20191108_112237_00008828148480687781398.png

What’s one negative thing (it doesn’t have to be overly personal) that you have been saying about yourself for as long as you’ve known yourself that you wish you could change? Comment down below and join the conversation.

Live Positively Chroniclers!

Love you guys ❤ ❤ ❤ .

Published by Keela's Chronicles

Keela's Chronicles was started by Jann Jacobs, a wife, entrepreneur and aspiring author. Jann created this blog to share her personal experiences, about faith and the road to turning her passion and life purpose into a profit. She believes whole-heartedly in the principles of the scripture Proverbs 18:16, "A man's gift makes room for him, and brings him before great men". Thus, she uses her gifts not only to inspire others but also to make a living, and she believes that everyone has the potential to do the same.

Leave a comment